samedi, décembre 20, 2003

Soros organisation

: "Evolutionary Psychology: An International Journal of
Evolutionary Approaches to Psychology and Behavior
ISSN 1474-7049
___________________

We are pleased to announce the launch of a new
peer-reviewed journal, 'Evolutionary Psychology:
An International Journal of Evolutionary Approaches
to Psychology and Behavior'

The journal enjoys extraordinarily broad support from
distinguished members of the international academic
community and has been established to promote open
access to excellent empirical, theoretical, historical,
and philosophical work in this important domain of
investigation. We believe that free access to material of the
highest quality will nurture informed debate and sustain
a broader foundation of interest and inquiry. We will
welcome work from any relevant discipline, and will be
keen to encourage submissions capable of integrating
the proximal, developmental, functional and
evolutionary approaches.



We are particularly interested in fostering communication
between experimental and theoretical work, on the one
hand, and historical, conceptual and interdisciplinary writings
across the whole range of the biomedical and human sciences,
on the other. We also wish to encourage reflective and
exploratory contributions and essay reviews on books which
merit extensive treatment.

Open peer commentary will be available for papers where
appropriate.

All material accepted for publication will be freely
available on the journal's web site, the URL of which
will be announced shortly. Our existing web site
consistently ranks in the top 3000 most popular
sites and will provide an excellent base for the
journal.

*Open Access

In debates about scientific publishing over recent
years it has been noted many times that the authors
of articles for peer-reviewed journals write primarily
for 'research impact'. Unfortunately, established practices,
which involve transferring copyright to journal publishers,
often achieve precisely the opposite of impact. Many worthy
papers appear in small-circulation journals where they
languish unnoticed by all but a few who could profit from
the ideas they contain. Many specialist journals have fewer
than 1000 subscribers, and even very popular journals fewer
than 5000.

Of course, since the advent of the Internet, and especially
the world wide web, access to information has been transformed,
but many of the old barriers remain in place. Although many
newspapers make their content freely available, the cost of a
journal article published online by a traditional publisher can
be more than the price of a textbook, and some publishers
do not allow access to individual papers without a full
subscription to the print journal. Stevan Harnad notes that:

'There are currently at least 20,000 refereed journals across
all fields of scholarship, publishing more than 2 million refereed
articles each year. The amount collectively paid by those of the
world's institutions which can afford the tolls for just one of
those refereed papers averages $2,000 per paper. In exchange
for that fee, that particular paper is accessible to readers at those,
and only those, paying institutions'.

However, as Harnad points out, with the advent of online
communities served by electronic journals,

'Learned inquiry, always communal and cumulative, will not
only be immeasurably better informed, new findings percolating
through minds and media almost instantaneously, but it will also
become incomparably more interactive'.

In his article 'Is your journal really necessary?' Declan Butler of
Nature writes:

'The possibilities of sophisticated matching of personalized
editorial selections across large swathes of the literature, and
the need to lower barriers to access, should in themselves be
sufficient to convince scientists tempted to create low-circulation
print journals to consider web-only options. Arguments that
electronic-only will hinder access of developing countries to
science is nonsense. The reality is that a library in Kinshasa
would be lucky if it could afford to subscribe to a handful of
print journals; the web promises developing countries access to
scientific information they could previously only have dreamed of.

But the essential function of a journal is to serve a particular
community. The next web revolution will be a plethora of
next-generation communities linking papers, people and data.
So next time you think about launching a print journal, unless
you have sufficient readership to survive in a free competitive
market, do your colleagues and science a favor by
considering instead what your community needs, and launch the
answer online. I predict that this change will occur in under
five years; if I am wrong, I will eat my journal'.

*Join Us

We encourage you to join our thriving online community
and the distinguished members of our editorial board to
support this important endeavor.

*Submissions:

Material for the journal should be submitted to the editor
electronically at ian.pitchford@scientist.com

Word processed documents should be in RTF - RICH TEXT
FORMAT.

*Peer review

All submissions will be subject to stringent peer review.

*Guidelines for authors:

Authors are encouraged to use APA style
http://www.wooster.edu/psychology/apa-crib.html
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/research/r_apa.html

*Copyright

The copyright of all items published by the journal will
remain with the authors.

*Further information from:

Ian Pitchford PhD CBiol MIBiol
The Human Nature Review
http://human-nature.com/

Department of Psychiatry
Creighton University School of Medicine
3528 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68131, USA

Tel: 402.345.8828
Fax: 402.345.8815
http://medicine.creighton.edu/

*References

Butler, D. (2000). Is your journal really necessary? Nature, 407, 291.
Harnad, S. (1998). On-line journals and financial fire walls. Nature, 395,
127-128.
Harnad, S. (2001). The self-archiving initiative. Nature, 410, 1024-1025.

______________


*EDITORIAL BOARD

Evolutionary Psychology: An International Journal of
Evolutionary Approaches to Psychology and Behavior

*EDITOR:

Ian Pitchford BSc (Open) BSc (Hons) MA PhD CBiol MIBiol
Department of Psychiatry, Creighton University
3528 Dodge Street, Omaha, NE 68131, USA.
Email: ian.pitchford@scientist.com

*ASSOCIATE EDITOR

Robert Maxwell Young
Professor Emeritus of Psychotherapy & Psychoanalytic Studies
Centre for Psychotherapeutic Studies, University of Sheffield, UK
Co-Director, Bulgarian Institute of Human Relations
Honored Professor, New Bulgarian University, Sofia
Email: robert@rmy1.demon.co.uk

*BOARD MEMBERS

John Archer
Professor of Psychology
University of Central Lancashire, UK
Email: jarcher@uclan.ac.uk

Larry Arnhart
Professor of Political Science
Northern Illinois University
Email: TI0LEA1@wpo.cso.niu.edu

Jerome H. Barkow
Professor, Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology
Dalhousie University, Canada
Email: j.h.barkow@dal.ca

Simon Baron-Cohen
Professor of Developmental Psychopathology
Departments of Experimental Psychology and Psychiatry
University of Cambridge, UK
Email: sb205@cus.cam.ac.uk

Paul Barrett
Chief Psychologist Mariner7 Ltd.
Auckland,New Zealand
Honorary Senior Research Fellow:
University of Liverpool (UK), Dept. of Clinical Psychology
University of Auckland (NZ), Dept. of Psychology
University of Canterbury (NZ), Dept. of Psychology
Email: p.barrett@liverpool.ac.uk

Patrick Bateson
Professor of Ethology
University of Cambridge, UK
Biological Secretary, The Royal Society
Email: ppgb@cam.ac.uk

Robert C. Berwick
Professor of Computational Linguistics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: berwick@ai.mit.edu

Laura L. Betzig
Museum of Zoology
University of Michigan
Email: lbetzig@aol.com

Sue Blackmore
Reader in Psychology
University of the West of England
Email: sjb_ac@hotmail.com

James Blair
Senior Lecturer, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
University College London, UK
Email: j.blair@ucl.ac.uk

Bjrn Brembs
Department of Neurobiology & Anatomy
The University of Texas-Houston Medical School
Email: bjoern@brembs.net

Gordon M. Burghardt
Alumni Distinguished Service Professor
Psychology and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Tennessee
Email: gburghar@utk.edu

David M. Buss
Professor of Psychology
University of Texas
Email: dbuss@psy.utexas.edu

Brian Butterworth
Professor of Cognitive Neuropsychology
Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience
University College London, UK
Email: b.butterworth@ucl.ac.uk

Richard W. Byrne
Professor of Evolutionary Psychology
University of St Andrews
Email: rwb@st-andrews.ac.uk

Peter Carruthers
Professor of Philosophy
University of Maryland, College Park
Email: pc154@umail.umd.edu

Napoleon Chagnon
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
University of California Santa Barbara
Email: chagnonn@traverse.net

James S. Chisholm
Associate Professor, Department of Anatomy and Human Biology
University of Western Australia
Email: jchisholm@anhb.uwa.edu.au

Jae C. Choe
School of Biological Sciences
Seoul National University
Email: jcchoe@snu.ac.kr

Noam Chomsky
Institute Professor; Professor of Linguistics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: chomsky@mit.edu

Roger Cooter
Professor of Social History
Director, Wellcome Unit for the History of Medicine
University of East Anglia, UK
Email: r.cooter@uea.ac.uk

Helena Cronin
Co-Director, Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science
London School of Economics, UK
Email: h.cronin@lse.ac.uk

Frans B. M. de Waal
C. H. Candler Professor, Psychology Department
Director of the Living Links Center
Emory University
Email: dewaal@emory.edu

Daniel C. Dennett
Director, Center for Cognitive Studies
Tufts University
Email: ddennett@tufts.edu

M. Catherine Desoto
Assistant Professor of Psychology
University of Northern Iowa
Email: cathy.desoto@uni.edu

Merlin W. Donald
Professor of Psychology,
Queen's University, Canada
Email: donaldm@psyc.queensu.ca

Robin Dunbar
Professor of Evolutionary Psychology
University of Liverpool, UK
Email: rimd@liverpool.ac.uk

John Dupr
Professor of Philosophy of Science
Director, Centre for the Philosophy of the Social Sciences
Department of Sociology, University of Exeter, UK
Email: j.a.dupre@exeter.ac.uk

Denis Dutton
Professor, Philosophy of Art
University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Email: constant.force@netaccess.co.nz

Nancy Etcoff
Clinical Instructor in Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry
Harvard Medical School
Email: etcoff@mediaone.net

Dylan Evans
Department of Philosophy
King's College London
Email: dylan.evans@kcl.ac.uk

Helen E. Fisher
Research Professor, Department of Anthropology
Rutgers University
Email: hefisher@worldnet.att.net

Mark Flinn
Associate Professor of Anthropology
University of Missouri
Email: flinnM@missouri.edu

Francis Fukuyama
Hirst Professor of Public Policy
George Mason University
Email: ffukuyam@gmu.edu

Russell Gardner
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
Wisconsin Medical College
Chairman, Psychotherapy Section, World Psychiatric Association
Email: rgj999@yahoo.com

David C. Geary
Middlebush Professor of Psychological Sciences
University of Missouri
Email: gearyD@missouri.edu

Paul Gilbert
Professor, Mental Health Research Unit
Kingsway Hospital, Derby, UK
Email: p.gilbert@derby.ac.uk

Herbert Gintis
Professor of Economics
University of Massachusetts
Email: hgintis@mediaone.net

Kalman Glantz
Psychotherapist
Cambridge, US
Email: kglantz@channel1.com

Ursula W. Goodenough
Professor, Department of Biology
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology
Washington University
Email: ursula@biosgi.wustl.edu

Harold Gouzoules
Professor of Psychology
Emory University
Email: psyhg@emory.edu

Karl Grammer
Director, Ludwig-Boltzmann-Institute for Urban Ethology
Institute for Human Biology, University of Vienna, Austria
Email: karl.grammer@univie.ac.at

Toshikazu Hasegawa
Professor, Department of Psychology
University of Tokyo, Japan
Email: thase@darwin.c.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Marc D. Hauser
Professor of Psychology
Harvard University
Email: hauser@wjh.harvard.edu

Elizabeth M. Hill
Associate Professor of Psychology
University of Detroit Mercy
Email: hillelm@udmercy.edu

Mariko Hiraiwa-Hasegawa
School of Political and Economic Science
Waseda University, Japan
Email: marikoh@mn.waseda.ac.jp

Lawrence A. Hirschfeld
Associate Professor, Anthropology and Psychology
University of Michigan
Email: lhirsch@umich.edu

Ralph L. Holloway
Professor of Anthropology
Columbia University
Email: rlh2@columbia.edu

David L. Hull
Professor of Philosophy
Northwestern University
Email: d-hull@northwestern.edu

Nicholas Humphrey
Professor, Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science
London School of Economics, UK
Email: n.humphrey@lse.ac.uk

James R. Hurford
Professor, Language Evolution and Computation Research Unit
Department of Theoretical and Applied Linguistics
University of Edinburgh, UK
Email: jim@ling.ed.ac.uk

Timo Jarvilehto
Professor of Psychology
University of Oulu, Finland
Email: tjarvile@ktk.oulu.fi

Daniel Jones
Editor, Current Opinion in Molecular Therapeutics
London, UK
Email: danjones@mistral.co.uk

Owen D. Jones
Professor of Law
Arizona State University
Email: owen.jones@asu.edu

Annette Karmiloff-Smith
Professor, Neurocognitive Development Unit
Institute of Child Health, London, UK
Email: a.karmiloff-smith@ich.ucl.ac.uk

Donald F. Klein
Professor of Psychiatry
Columbia University
Director of Psychiatric Research and of the Department of Therapeutics
New York State Psychiatric Institute
Email: donaldk737@aol.com

Diana Kornbrot
Reader in Mathematical Psychology
Associate Dean Research, Faculty of Health & Human Sciences
University of Hertfordshire, UK
Email: d.e.kornbrot@herts.ac.uk

Roger D. Masters
Professor of Government, Emeritus
President, Foundation for Neuroscience and Society
Dartmouth College
Email: roger.d.masters@dartmouth.edu

Michael E. Mills
Associate Professor, Psychology Department
Loyola Marymount University
Email: memills@aol.com

Steven Mithen
Professor of Archaeology
University of Reading, UK
Email: s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk

Pter Molnr
Professor and Chair, Department of Behavioral Sciences
Medical and Health Science Center
University of Debrecen, Hungary
Email: pmolnar@jaguar.dote.hu

Jaak Panksepp
Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus of Psychology
Bowling Green State University
Email: jpankse@bgnet.bgsu.edu

David Papineau
Professor of Philosophy
King's College, London, UK
Email: david.papineau@kcl.ac.uk

Michael Peters
Professor, Neuropsychology
University of Guelph, Canada
Email: mpeters@uoguelph.ca

Steven Pinker
Peter de Florez Professor in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: steve@psyche.mit.edu

Henry Plotkin
Professor of Psychobiology
University College, London, UK
Email: h.plotkin@ucl.ac.uk

John S. Price
Consultant Psychiatrist, UK
Email: john.price@lycosmail.com

Robert J. Richards
Director, Fishbein Center For History of Science
University of Chicago
Email: r-richards@uchicago.edu

Peter J. Richerson
Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy
University of California--Davis
Email: pjricherson@ucdavis.edu

Paul H. Rubin
Professor of Economics and Law
Emory University
Email: prubin@gnt.net

Michael Ruse
Professor of Philosophy
Florida State University
Email: mruse@mailer.fsu.edu

Ullica Segerstrle
Professor of Sociology
Illinois Institute of Technology
Email: segerstrale@iit.edu

Irwin Silverman
Professor of Psychology
York University, Canada
Email: isilv@yorku.ca

Peter Singer
DeCamp Professor of Bioethics
University Center for Human Values
Princeton University
Email: psinger@princeton.edu

Devendra Singh
Professor, Department of Psychology
University of Texas
Email: singh@psy.utexas.edu

David L. Smith
Director, The New England Institute
University of New England
Email: dsmith06@maine.rr.com

Euclid O. (Neal) Smith
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
Emory University
Email: eosmith@emory.edu

Elliott Sober
Hans Reichenbach Professor and Henry Vilas Research Professor
Department of Philosophy
University of Wisconsin
Email: ersober@facstaff.wisc.edu

Dan Sperber
Director of Research, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
Institut Jean Nicod (CNRS et EHESS), Paris, France
Email: dan@sperber.com

Stephen P. Stich
Board of Governors Professor
Department of Philosophy & Center for Cognitive Science
Rutgers University
Email: stich@ruccs.rutgers.edu

Kristiaan Thienpont
Lecturer, Department of Population Sciences
University of Ghent, Belgium
Email: kristiaan.thienpont@rug.ac.be

Lionel Tiger
Darwin Professor of Anthropology
Rutgers University
Email: ltiger@prodigy.net

Maurizio Tirassa
Associate Professor of Psychology
Centro di Scienza Cognitiva
Universit di Torino, Italy
Email: tirassa@psych.unito.it

Robert L. Trivers
Professor of Anthropology and Biological Sciences
Rutgers University
Email: trivers@rci.rutgers.edu

Claus Wedekind
Institute of Cell, Animal and Population Biology
University of Edinburgh
Lecturer, Faculty of Science
University of Bern, Switzerland
Email: claus.wedekind@ed.ac.uk

Fredric Weizmann
Professor of Psychology
York University, Canada
Email: weizmann@yorku.ca

Henry M Wellman
Professor of Psychology
Center for Human Growth and Development
University of Michigan
Email: hmw@umich.edu

Daniel R. Wilson
Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Anthropology
Creighton University
Email: wilson@creighton.edu

William Wimsatt
Professor, Department of Philosophy
Committee on Evolutionary Biology
Committee on the Conceptual Foundations of Science
Fishbein Center for the History of Biology and Medicine
University Of Chicago
Email: wwim@midway.uchicago.edu

2 commentaires:

Anonyme a dit…

Simply desire to say your article is as amazing.
The clearness to your publish is simply great and that i
can think you're a professional on this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to grasp your feed to stay updated with forthcoming post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the enjoyable work.

my homepage; simmons ()

Anonyme a dit…

Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content
seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
I'm not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I'd post to let you know.
The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue resolved soon.
Kudos

Also visit my weblog - lockmans